Thank You for The Kindness of Strangers and Thinking of Others

 

 

I do not rely on the kindness of strangers but it is one of those things that inspires my trust in the bigger portrait of humanity.

Any time a person does something they don’t have to do, offers a gift, a word, help with a project, or shares something they could have easily kept to themselves, there is a  wonderful phenomenon that occurs— an exertion of human alliance.

I am delighted when I get personal e-mails from folks I have never met who read my blogs or random comments from strangers on the street that let me know I do not  live alone on this planet, that I am among the all of us.

I have friends who have given me gifts saying “I saw this and it made me think of you.” or “I know you will be able to do something with this” or “I just wanted to give you help with your project.”

These acts weave a thread of kinship into the life of an individual, creates embroidery on an otherwise plain piece of cloth. 

It adds beauty and depth to ones life and endeavors.

Every time we think of someone else, we alleviate our own aloneness.

When we put energy into connecting with others we add them to our own amalgam of self in the universe.

I like discovering there is life on other planets and they come bearing gifts —especially gifts that perpetuate more gifts that I can pass along.

It broadens my world into an endless galaxy of potential and alliance.

~ by leakelley on March 30, 2009.

3 Responses to “Thank You for The Kindness of Strangers and Thinking of Others”

  1. Blanche DuBois was the one who relied on the kindness of strangers. Scarlett got out there and did whatever needed to be done to take care of herself, her family, and Melanie and Ashley and little Beau while she was at it. Don’t go dissin’ my dear Scarlett!

    ;~)

    Kindness can make me cry on a dime…a word of praise when it’s needed, someone helping people in need in whatever way they can, and it’s needed more than ever right now when so many people are hurting.

  2. Bev,
    Thank you!
    Only I could mix up “A Streetcar Named Desire” and “Gone With the Wind”!
    This is primarily due to the fact that my memory frequently goes with the latter title.

  3. On the Scarlett or Blanche scale, I think we both lean far to the Scarlett side. Only you are nicer about it.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

 
