Thank you for the Wayside, the Roadside

On the road of my life’s journey, there is an edge, a ridge that runs parallel to the road.
On this roadside is where I leave all the heavy baggage, the idealistic notions about humanity that did not make the journey this far, and the opportunities and experiences that I did not know how to carry on the road.
Sometimes I go to the edge and revisit what I have left behind. I walk along the ridge and forage through debris, memories, and lessons I have learned from the people I have loved.
I sometimes look for answers to present questions in the past, fallen by the wayside.
The wayside is not a place I can stay for long because I cannot walk backwards but it is a place where all things left behind remain in tact to glance back at when I can not see the light at the end of the road.

~ by leakelley on October 30, 2007.

One Response to “Thank you for the Wayside, the Roadside”

  1. Ditto. L.

Leave a Reply

 
