Thank You For Coming to My Senses, One at a Time

I watch, I listen, I taste, smell, and sense the world around me.

Sometimes the world is a little much, and I can get a bit over-amped on stimuli.

If the computer is on, the phone is ringing, dinner is burning, and I’m chewing peppermint gum while standing in the shower, my whole world can short circuit.

Then I have to change a fuse or reset the circuit breaker.

Everything must be rebooted, one thing at a time.

I’m not a good multi-tasker when it comes to inundating my senses.

I like using one sense at a time so I can really experience it.

If I’m watching a sunset, I like quiet around me so my eyes can concentrate.

If I’m listening to classical music, I prefer not to be eating spicy Mexican food at the same time.

When I’m smelling a rose or an orange, I close my eyes.

During a massage, I don’t want to smell a BBQ or hear fire alarms and sirens.

My brain is a busy place, and sometimes I have to be selective about what comes through the revolving door into it, or it can get so crowded that I can’t concentrate on anything.

It can be like trying to carry on five conversations at once when all my senses are working simultaneously, nobody gets heard.

So I try to choose one focal point at a time.

Visual

Auditory

Olfactory

Kinesthetic

or Otherwise

This is not always a practical approach—like when I’m driving a car or walking through a dangerous jungle—but I do what I can to make sense out of my experiences.

One at a time…

~ by leakelley on May 1, 2016.

2 Responses to “Thank You For Coming to My Senses, One at a Time”

  1. slow patient speed

  2. Well said my friend!

Leave a Reply

 
