Thank You for Time Travelers

As a child, I mentally escaped from dysfunction by staring out of windows and imagining far off lands, people I would meet some day, and the person who I would be some day.

In Michigan, at age nine, I saw a future adult me with long red hair, a long trench coat, a black turtle neck, and tall black boots standing in front of a college with books in her hands. I saw this future me in 1968 when this was the style of clothing in my environment. At that time, my red hair was cropped by my own hand into an uneven mess and I lived in a chaotic atmosphere where few people finished high school, let alone went to college. So I don’t know what inspired such a vision.

In 1986, at age 27, I was walking out of my anthropology class, through the giant doors of a college I was attending in California. I stopped in front of the double doors before descending the cement stairs down to the sidewalk.

I looked down at my feet. Tall black boots had come back in style. I was wearing a long rain coat over a black turtle neck sweater. My hair was waist length.

It took a few minutes to recall why I was experiencing Déjà vu.

When I remembered the nine year old girl who had the vision, I got tears in my eyes and said out loud “Thank you, we made it.”

I am recalling this experience because I am presently reading a great book called The Time Traveler’s Wife.

I am wondering if this book is not as fictional as it’s supposed to be.

I am wondering if we really can manifest our destinies within the fate we have inherited. I am wondering if I might be a little bit cuckoo or a bit of an idealistic romantic.

But I am thankful for what ever it is that guided that nine year old to a better place. (including all the wonderful people she just happened to meet on the way)

And by the way,  Click this: Thank You for Windows    

~ by leakelley on July 31, 2013.

4 Responses to “Thank You for Time Travelers”

  1. What a cool story!!! Awesome.

  2. Life is beautiful.

  3. I call it “when I glommed on” to something. I have wondered for a long time if I have manifested childhood wishes magically, or if just focusing on them somehow carried through to adulthood (even when I had forgotten them consciously,) and kept me on the path to fulfilling them.

    The most romantic example is when I watched the movie “South Pacific” when I was about 7 years old. I wanted to dance on that balcony overlooking that ocean, and I wanted it to be with a tall, dark, and handsome Frenchman, under the stars–me in the long dress with the full skirt twirling around. I wanted it BAD, and then, as I grew up, I forgot all about it.

    To try to cut a very long story short, I ended up at Club Med on Kauai, fought all day long with my diving GO, Erige Formis, a Frenchman who hated Americans. At the end of an exhausting two days of debate, I was enjoying the view from the balcony next to the pool. He was walking back to his room, saw me, and decided to try a truce. We could hear the music from the dance floor, and suddenly, amid lots of rock and roll and pop, they played a waltz. He held out his arms and said, “Dance with me?” We twirled and fell in love a bit, and then he said, “Did you know that they covered over the pool to make the balcony scene of South Pacific here?” I looked down at my long cotton swirling skirts…and I remembered.

    There have been far less romantic things happen as well, and some made me wonder how the heck I ever wished for THAT–but Lea, you are not alone.

    If you find out how it happens, let me know!

  4. This future vision of yourself was, from my point of view, God’s way of showing tangible hope, and grace, to a lost little girl. I read the The Time Traveler’s Wife and just loved it 🙂
    I am adding you to my blogroll leah. I love your blog and the soul that speaks through it.

Leave a Reply

 
