Thank You for Circadian Rhythm Drummers

My circadian rhythm is marching to the beat of a different drummer lately. That new drummer… ain’t got timing.

I am usually one of those folks who go right to sleep (early) and pop up like toast in the morning (early).

Not with this new circadian rhythm drummer—let’s call this drummer without a good rhythm Djembe.

Djembe not only has poor timing but Djembe can’t tell time.

I want to go to sleep when it’s dark. Djembe want’s to dance around in my head and keep my brain running like a tribal disco club so I can’t sleep.

I want to get up with the sunrise. Djembe is all tuckered out from staying awake in the dark for no good reason and pushes my face back into the pillow.

I wake up in the middle of the night calling for sweet Somnia but Somnia can’t hear me because Djembe is making so much internal noise!

I am gonna have to euthanize this new drummer so I can get some sleep and get my own circadian rhythm back.

Lets see…

I could bury Djembe in the back yard until spring.

I could ship Djembe to a coal mine in Appalachia where it’s always dark.

I could drug Djembe with sominex

I could , I could, aw jeez I’m tired!

I am thankful for my normal circadian rhythm (when it does find it’s way back home).

Go to sleep,  Djembe, Go to sleep. Or at least learn a lullaby.

~ by leakelley on July 22, 2010.

3 Responses to “Thank You for Circadian Rhythm Drummers”

  1. My rhythms have been messed up for about 2 years now. So, if you can’t sleep, feel free to call–4 AM, no problem, (you too Linda!) I am probably still awake. Most attempts to “fix” this have been laughable.

    I wonder how much of this is related to the short winter days though? With the long sun days of summer, it’s not quite as noticeable…and I can actually get those drummers to find a better beat.

  2. Ah, sleep, how I long for thee. Djembe, huh. Would that be the drum Nat gave to you a few years back in the photo?

    I miss falling asleep fast and deep, restful upon waking. I wonder if it will ever happen again. The fact that you and I talked at 2:40 am on January 1 because you saw a comment I made on your blog a few minutes before is proof that nothing stays the same. I don’t think we’ve ever (in 24 or more years) talked at that hour of the day/night. Thanks for calling. I was surprised and delighted, that you were there with me in the night. Did we find the answer to the question of world peace? I don’t remember, but I think we were close. There’s something special about unexpected phone calls, and something special-er about having a friend who *gets* why we’re up so late/early.

    I’m up late again, and can’t think of any reason to finish my day – oh, except exhaustion. Oddly, that’s not enough most nights. Welcome to mid-life and a whole suitcase full of EXPERIENCE of the agitated and tortured kind. It’s not like you haven’t been there all along, it’s just that your body is rebelling in an all-too aging way. Sorry, my friend, but it’s true – aging will keep you AWAKE. I’ve never understood this. Shouldn’t we finally be rewarded with restfulness??? Circadian schmircadian.

    Love you, sweet dreams,
    L.

  3. I wonder what is UP with the Universe right now because this is what is happening with me right now! I have never had trouble sleeping… but the last few months… very frustrating! I will help you take out that “little drummer boy” if you need a hand!! 😉
    AAAAAHHHH!!!

Leave a Reply

 
