Thank You For The Chore of Grocery Shopping

There are millions of people on this planet who have never experienced walking through a giant grocery store, randomly tossing food items into a cart.

There are folks who never experience more than one meal’s worth of food at a time in their homes.

For some people there are no hot meals in their home, and sometimes, no home.

When my refrigerator is full, I always feel like I am prepared for anything.

A full refrigerator gives me a sense of options, like no matter what happens, I will be able to feed myself or others.

Sometimes grocery shopping feels like a chore.

I have to get into my comfy car, drive to the well lit grocery store, choose from a myriad of beautiful fruit, crisp vegetables, and decadent culinary potentials, drive home, put everything away and plan for scrumptious meals at my whim.

Poor me.

I have a refrigerator.

I have a stove with a nice oven.

I have a cupboard and a loaded spice cabinet.

I have clean countertops and cutting boards.

I have silverware, stainless steel cookware, and lovely serving dishes.

Poor me.

I don’t have to grind corn with a stone to have tortillas.

I don’t have to forage through the jungle for grub worms.

I don’t have to make flat bread in a fire pit that sits on the dirt floor where I sleep.

I don’t have to glean rice fields for tiny morsels.

I don’t have to stand with my children outside a fast food restaurant with a sign that reads: Hungry. Please Help. God Bless.

I get to go to the grocery store, buy clean healthy food, and go home to do my real chores without being exhausted from lack of nutrition.

the-gleaners

The Gleaners by Jean-François Millet

~ by leakelley on February 5, 2010.

One Response to “Thank You For The Chore of Grocery Shopping”

  1. great!

Leave a Reply

 
