Thank You for Trusting to Breathe

I have a theory that if one gives what they have, they will get what they need—but not necessarily from the source they gave to.

When I have a need in my life, the first thing I do is make room for it to arrive.

I look around for the things I have that I don’t need anymore, and give them to someone who does.

Then there is a space in my environment for my present need to be fulfilled.

There are people who have a difficult time letting go of things.

They close their hands around their possessions and their previous experiences and they hold tight.

It is impossible to receive a gift into a closed hand.

If you are holding onto the past, there is not as much room in your hand for the future.

Life is like breath.

We inhale things and experiences, and we exhale them, transformed as offerings, creativity, and knowledge to those around us.

Then we have room to take in a new breath.

We can’t always see where our breath goes, but we have to trust that there will be enough air and make room to take in another one.

Exhaling is just as important as inhaling, to keep us alive.

~ by leakelley on January 25, 2010.

3 Responses to “Thank You for Trusting to Breathe”

  1. Amen sister. I have been letting go of a WHOLE LOT lately and you were brought into my life. What a gift you are!! See you next week. ❤ Marla

  2. Thank you for writing this. It is exactly true. I posted a link to this post on Facebook so all my friends can see it.:-)

  3. Wow! So simple and profound! AH!!!! {exhaling}

Leave a Reply

 
