Thank You for Unknown Singers

Sitting by my window this morning, I heard a beautiful song.

It was being sung by someone I have never met, in a language I do not speak.

The song drifted through my window and touched my heart in a way I cannot explain.

It was as though the singer was trying to tell me something very important.

I struggled to interpret the lyrics, to find something familiar in the melody.

With my limited comprehension of the singer’s language, I attempted to decipher the message in the song.

I wanted to know the meaning of the song, the intent of the singer.

I think it went kind of like this…

You’re not alone

I see you there

We share my home

In your care

My life, your joy

My gift, this song

For you to hear

Your whole life long

My silence would be sorrow

If your forget me

In your tomorrow

I looked out my window to see this unknown singer…

But the little bird flew away and left me to the sounds of traffic and sidewalk noises.

~ by leakelley on January 22, 2010.

2 Responses to “Thank You for Unknown Singers”

  1. Birds are the best singers. 🙂

  2. “…the littlest birds sing the prettiest songs…”

Leave a Reply

 
