Thank you for My Body

My body does not fit into a lot of categories as some women’s bodies do.

I will never see it in an ad for weight loss or on a bill board in a bikini.

It is not what our culture designs clothing for, not what you’d find on a runway, or in one of those before-and-after photos at the back of a magazine for cellulite cream.

It’s not buxom, not full, not anorexic, not curvy, not what teen age girls aspire to, or plastic surgeons use in their promotional brochures.

My body is a little plain, a little innocuous, nothing really stands out or screams “hey look at this part!”

My body is not a Renoir, nor a fractured Picaso but it is definitely long, strong, and able to accommodate my needs.

It responds well to demands without complaint for the most part.

It protects my brain and offers refuge to my heart.

My body does not have too many aches and pains (which is really good on account of I got a real low threshold to pain).

My body is the warehouse that I keep all my precious stuff in;

my memories

my creativity

my comfort

my pleasure

experiences

and coffee and chocolate

I don’t always remember to feed it on time or let it rest when I should.

But it still keeps going and carrying the rest of me around to add more good stuff to it and put it through luxurious baths, exhilarating walks, exposure to warm sunshine, touch, smell, and a whole lot of nerve tickling, belly laughing, tasting, and synapse sparking adventure.

It communicates in code; goose bumps, yawns, sweat, heartbeat changes, all this stuff to let me know when I’m doing something wrong or doing something really right.

Yeah, me and my body, we’re good pals.

And even if I don’t agree with everything it tells me, I know…

My body got soul!

It’s all about what’s on the inside, eh?

Enigma by Juginder Lamba

~ by leakelley on November 18, 2009.

3 Responses to “Thank you for My Body”

  1. That’s a beautiful piece, to go with the writing. Really- I love the angle of the head.

    Thanks, as always, for the reminder of what a gift it is, those things we take for granted.

  2. “It communicates in code; goose bumps, yawns, sweat, heartbeat changes, all this stuff to let me know when I’m doing something wrong or doing something really right.”

    Love that, just love it.

  3. You get the roses on my “runway”–body and soul!

Leave a Reply

 
