Thank You for the Difference Between Assimilators and Usurpers

Some folks make it easy to give to them.

They will accept your offering and assimilate it with appreciation and they will honor the gift with respect.

Some folks just usurp things, people, and their surroundings.

These folks rarely recognize that they are doing such a thing.

They are like empty vessels, never full, with no capacity to transform gifts that are given to them into gifts for others.

They don’t know how to play Pass it on or Pass it back.

This stops the flow of energy on the social evolution field.

It’s like a football player who hogs the ball.

It’s like playing fetch with a dog who never brings the stick back.

The whole game goes down.

Assimilators change for the better and offer transformed gifts back to Humanity.

People who usurp, claim everything that enters their sphere as their own.

If someone shares an idea with them, they act like they thought of it.

If they answer the door when the pizza delivery guy calls, nobody else in the room gets pizza. The party’s over.

An Assimilator will credit a gift giver with acknowledgment as they share the gift with others.

A Usurper will take it, say “Hey, Look at me! Look what I got! Look what I did!” and immediately seek another gift somewhere else.

I think maybe it’s good, if you have gift, to only give half of it to a Usurper, and pass the rest on to an Assimilator.

This keeps the ball rolling, and you can still play fetch with half of a stick—it just doesn’t fly as far.

~ by leakelley on May 8, 2009.

5 Responses to “Thank You for the Difference Between Assimilators and Usurpers”

  1. I totally relate to this post.
    I bought flowers for my ex, he just looked at them and never said a word. Nothing.. not even they are pretty not even thank you.

    This hit a spot on me.

    Thanks for helping me understand.

  2. is your stick half empty this morning?
    mine too!
    let’s make a whole stick and go play in the sun!

  3. let’s rub our sticks together and light something on FIRE!

  4. You certainly have a handle on human nature. We have all known Assimilators and Usurpers. I’ll bet I’m not the only one for whom your message is particularly relevant today.

  5. I have assimilated your beautiful poem for Linda, and, in my head, I have already transformed it into gifts for two sisters, and fairy God Daughter of my own.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
