Thank you for Truth that Matters

There are those who would say that mathematics is the only truth.

I can almost go there… but it’s very lonely.

Mathematicians deduce their truth based on axioms and assumptions just like everybody else. 

They look for patterns in all things to establish their theories about truth. 

I look for patterns in things to establish my truth.

Pure mathematics is about the sheer beauty of itself.

Truth is about the sheer beauty of itself as well.

Applied mathematics is about using math to explain things about the real world.

I use truth to explain things about the real world.

Math is not separate from truth.

In fact, there are those that would never consider anything to be truth without the mathematical formula to prove it so. 

They adhere to mathematics as a language of agreement to define space, structure, motion, measurement, and the capacity to anticipate changes in Truth itself…

And though that can make me dizzy just thinking about it, I can see how math is the chosen religion of many intellectuals and explorers of this  matter we call “reality”.

Before you make an assumption, or establish an axiom based on what I have just written to measure my lack of intelligence in regard to what truth is…

Know that I am less interested in the philosophical theories of truth that attempt to define fact and above said “reality” than I am in the kind of truth that offers me personal meaning in my physical and emotional environment.

So, I’m  talkin’ about meaning here.

That’s more about the relationship between Truth and Ontology (or the nature of just “being”).

I do not necessarily have my own formula for meaning, but I seek it out like a mathematician looking to define matter.

To me, meaning is made up of things that matter and meaning matters.

That’s the truth.

But Math is cool. It’s just that numbers can be lonely, like I said—especially number One, it’s the loneliest.

~ by leakelley on April 21, 2009.

3 Responses to “Thank you for Truth that Matters”

  1. “The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the
    opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth.”

    –Niels Bohr
    Danish physicist (1885 – 1962)

  2. This post rises to new levels even for you. A classic.

  3. Smiling… meaning matters indeed!!

Leave a Reply

 
