Thank You for Being Lost

 

Yesterday I got lost in my own town for the third time in two weeks.

The first time, I got completely frustrated, the second time, a little bemused, and then yesterday, seven blocks from where I actually live, I finally just gave into the idea that maybe I am just losing it.

I have been all over the world, driven across this country a few times, explored unfamiliar territories, and even found my way out of wooded mazes and off the Chicago Loop.

But my small town—where I have lived for years—seems to have exhausted my sense of direction and capacity to remember landmarks.

I am wondering if we get an inner road map at birth and maybe it just wears out. Or maybe my internal Rand McNally domain is expiring.

This  getting lost thing is causing me to reevaluate my place in the Universe.

I am no longer confident to put my ear to the railroad track and say “Big horses coming from the North.” They might run over my head.

I can not trust my internal GPS tracking system to get me to the bathroom, let alone to an appointment in a new building with a guy who’s name I forgot.

Aw Jeez, now I gotta start wearing one of those tags on my lapel that reads;

“If you find this woman wandering around please call 1-800- Nobody Knows She’s Missing.”

I might have to get one of those extendible leashes and attach it to my doorknob when I go to the store.

In the mean time, some of the good things about getting lost and being lost is;

Everything looks brand new

You feel anonymous and free

It’s like being on vacation, only cheaper

You can buy a new house that looks just like your old house and all your stuff is already moved into it.

And on a more philosophical note:

Being lost is a great way to find out where you really want to go.

~ by leakelley on March 14, 2009.

4 Responses to “Thank You for Being Lost”

  1. how do you find the most graceful ways to turn frustrations around? I really like your style Lea! Great post!

  2. You’ve touched on my biggest fear — getting lost. My internal GPS is totally out of whack, too. In fact, if I feel strongly I should turn right, then the true way is almost always left. Lately I’m learning to trust a real GPS. It gives me some comfort, in fact guided me to a strange church for a funeral and a different doctor’s office a few weeks after my husband died. I felt I had to learn to do things alone I’ve never done before. To my husband, getting lost was an adventure and he allowed it to happen at times. If I ever capture the thrill of being lost as he did I will consider myself successful.

  3. Its also scary.

  4. When I started the ‘wonderful’ life phase of menopausal mania I, too, would get lost in familiar places. It was due to drops in estrogen which makes for a hazy mind. I’m so glad that part of the phase is over as it was scary for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
