Thank you for Transcending the Damned

 

Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

There are some situations that just have no easy resolution. 

The quandary of should I or shouldn’t I can spin my head around and send me rolling down the hill into the valley of the damned.

Transcending the valley of the damned can be tricky. 

Weighing dual options, alternatives against ramifications, comparing this to that, takes a whole lot of brain work and far too much precious time if you let it.

Some folks treat life like a dinner menu. 

They research, ask opinions of others, and adhere to the tried and true.

They know what they want going in. “I’ll take the number 4”. They eat it, don’t complain, and go home to take a nap when they’re done. Simple!

Me, I rarely know what I want until I get there. I want to look around a little first—just in case there’s a new experience to be had.

I’m not one to make decisions based purely on the plan, the prior research, or the word of someone who has been there.

So I arrive to many life situations like an uninvited party crasher and figure out what to do after I realize I am underdressed. 

Hence my fall into the valley of the damned; “If I leave (give up and walk away) I’ll miss out on all the fun.

If I stay, unprepared, I’ll be shunned, misunderstood, and feel inadequate in comparison to others. I’ll not have any fun. 

I am damned.

What to do. What to do.

Spontaneously Ad-libbing one’s way out of an awkward or unfamiliar situation provides good experience for climbing out of the valley of the damned.

Grab a table cloth, make an instant party dress, laugh like you did it on purpose.

Watch everybody else point at you and say “Well, I’ll be damned!”

Ha! Problem solved. All is equal!

~ by leakelley on February 27, 2009.

One Response to “Thank you for Transcending the Damned”

  1. Haven’t we all been there? You had me laughing– at myself?

Leave a Reply

 
