Thank you for Discomfort

 

Comfort is a subjective feeling. Sometimes we don’t even notice it.

We appreciate comfort far more when it follows discomfort.

Discomfort is the initiator of change, the inspiration for invention, the catalyst for seeking venues toward comfort.

It seems that when I am comfortable I resist change even if that change is conducive to making me even more comfortable. 

Comfort is not a very productive muse for creative endeavors. 

Comfort rarely provokes one to passions or adventure.

Comfort is not a risk taker.

Yet comfort is the inevitable goal, is it not?

We aspire toward comfortable social situations, comfortable clothing, comfortable lifestyles, and comfort within ourselves, in our view of ourselves and accomplishments.

It also seems we not only need to be comfortable, but we need to create comfort for others as well. 

It is instinctual to comfort someone in pain, put a blanket over a person who is cold, or feed a hungry kitten. 

There is comfort in comforting another.

If everyone was in a constant state of comfort we might not ever accomplish anything or relate to others. We would be completely self contained with no justification to get off the couch and seek out alternative situations or options to enhance our existence.

I am thankful for all things—inventions, philanthropists,  social adaptations, medicines, heating systems, soft toilette paper, and creative means to relate to one another— inspired by discomfort.

~ by leakelley on February 24, 2009.

4 Responses to “Thank you for Discomfort”

  1. I would never have thought of discomfort in quite that way.

    It’s certainly not something most people would intuitively feel grateful for.

  2. I love the way you turn things on their heads (or inside out) and present us with another view. Like Amuirin, I would never have thought of discomfort in this way, as something positive.

    I’ll try to have a little more gratitude about the current state of discomfort I find myself in while I go about making much-needed changes. 🙂

  3. I read an interesting post about “comfort zones” by Steve Pavlina, who suggests that many people in their “comfort zones” think their effectiveness is a 7/10. He challenges that anyone in this situation is actually performaing at a 3/10.

    Using exercise as an example, how would the casual gym goer work out compare to the regiment of a true 10, like an Olympic athlete? Could they compare their effort to that of an Oympian and still, at 7/10 be that close? Probably not!

    It’s interesting to me because it challenges our perceptions when are within our comfort zone, which I think by nature, are inflated due to comfort.

  4. Priceless observations! And as a girl who spent a week recovering after her back went out… I can totally vouch for the truth that I appreciate comfort MUCH more after I have endured discomfort. I am reveling in the joys of easily getting up and down, out of bed, in and out of the car… etc. 🙂 So grateful to be on the mend!

Leave a Reply

 
