Thank You for The Hard Road, The Road Back

 

The hardest road to travel is the road Back.

Have you ever felt you destroyed a relationship, an opportunity, or something you believed was irretrievable and had to take the hard steps to get back to stability or love or safety?

As I see Obama trying to DE-Bush this nation of ours, I am inspired to ponder the difficulty of the road back while trying to move forward.

So many people have had to go back and clean up a previous mess to get on with their lives.

I have seen homeless people, at the end of their ropes, get a job and a home to find stability in what seemed to be a miraculous turn of events.

We’ve all witnessed celebrities, lost to society, make a a grand comeback with one role that never seemed possible.

Ask any alcoholic how hard it is to reclaim their life after hitting bottom and finding the road back.

I, myself have experienced the road back in relationships and other circumstances at different times in my life.

It takes a lot of work and commitment.

It also takes support and cooperation with others.

The road back from cynicism, lost hope, and broken trust is a difficult one.

They say you can never go home again.

I say I don’t want to live in that beat up house anyway.

But I would like to at least go back and fix it up because it’s the only one there is.

Maybe it will feel more like home after we make it ours again. 

Maybe the hard road back is worth the effort so we can move forward in the world, knowing that we don’t ever want to risk losing what we love by letting things get that bad again.

Thank you for a brief walk on the road back which leads to the road forward.

~ by leakelley on January 24, 2009.

5 Responses to “Thank You for The Hard Road, The Road Back”

  1. ‘DE-Bush this nation of ours’ … that was funny …. and a very well written article …

  2. The road back definitely takes the help care and support of others. Here is my problem… I am so used to helping everyone else, that I feel that there is no one for me to ask… or maybe it is just that I don’t see who to ask.
    Thanks for this post…

  3. Very thought provoking.. Thank you..

  4. On Precipice Drive in Paradise I was bitten by The Viper & fell over the edge, tumbling down & down to I knew not where. Here.

  5. Eloquent and wise as always.

Leave a Reply

 
