Thank You for Men Tors

 

In Greek mythology Odysseus of Ithaca went to fight in the Trojan War and entrusted the care of his son, Telemachus, to an older and wiser friend, Mentor. Telemachus and Mentor developed a strong relationship built on the foundations of guidance and support. 

It is from that time that the word “mentor” has become synonymous with teacher, counselor, motivator and friend. 

A tor is a rocky peak or a hill. 

I like watching young men climb intellectual hills that are presented to them by older men.

I am presently witness to a young college student evolving through the influence of a friend of mine. My friend is in his late seventies and a brilliant articulator and source of information on many subjects. The young student has realized the value of my friend’s brilliance and adopted him as a mentor in intellectual pursuits.

Observing the benefits of this interaction (for both the student and my friend)  makes me wonder why all young people don’t adopt an older person with life experience as part of an academic curriculum.

I think maybe Universities should have a program that facilitates mentor adoptions.

Artists used to study under a master painter, philosophers under great thinkers of their time, monks under avatars, and apprenticeships of many skills have have contributed to beautiful craftsmanship.

I have learned from my friend that academics and communication is also a craft. I am thankful that the young college student has discovered this as well.

I am also thankful for the many women tors I have met in my own life.

I know as many  brilliant, intellectual women as I do men.

~ by leakelley on December 19, 2008.

One Response to “Thank You for Men Tors”

  1. So very true.. It is amazing that in our society, the older people appear to have no value – they wither and die..

    In other societies – the old are the sages, the holders of wisdom.. I wish we could get back to that..

Leave a Reply

 
