Thank You for Roadless Travels

Many of us have read The Road Less Traveled by M. Scott Peck (a popular Psychiatrist in the seventies) and The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost (popular all the time).

Roads, roads, roads, everywhere roads. 

Metaphors, transcendence, and beautiful words to enhance the journey that is our individual destinies.

Tomorrow I am headed on another physical road trip to California.

This trip is meaningful for me in many ways—personally and professionally. Some of that meaning can be applied to the literary intent of the two aforementioned authors (because I like to transcend the mundane whenever I get a chance and make every activity mean something.) 

I have done a lot of traveling in my life, on roads and off roads.

These days I prefer roadless travels, the kind you don’t have to pack for, with a cup of coffee and a little bit of creative inspiration.

Nonetheless, I am embarking on a weeks journey with suit cases, paintings, and brand new tires. So this is me packing and organizing my stuff to travel down that real road called Interstate 5.

If I encounter Two roads diverged in a yellow wood I will probably opt for the one less traveled and see if I can’t find an adventure and transcend the difficulties of life and the nuerosis encountered within it. 

Driving is a great time to explore metaphoric roads while maneuvering physical roads. I am looking forward to that part— contemplating, singing out load with the radio, and just exploring the roads I have laid in my own mind while keeping my hands firmly on the steering wheel.

~ by leakelley on October 24, 2008.

One Response to “Thank You for Roadless Travels”

  1. Yes, there is something very freeing about being on the physical road that inspires our metaphorical road. And sometimes it just feels good to crank the tunes, put the pedal to the metal and just fly.

Leave a Reply

 
