Thank you for “Get thee behind me, Demon”

Sometimes, plucking out the root of all evil, can hurt.

 

We all have shadows. I like to say “The brighter the light, the darker the shadow”

To rid ourselves of our own demons, we sometimes inadvertently injure a part of us that is very significant in our self. Everybody has material that has contributed to their development which may not fit into their ideal image of themselves.

To kill the beast sometimes means sacrificing a slice of ourselves to transcend our history.

This cartoon snuck onto my canvas the other day while I was contemplating ways to integrate history, which follows us like a little demon, into the present moment…

~ by leakelley on September 29, 2008.

3 Responses to “Thank you for “Get thee behind me, Demon””

  1. the elements of our change should be the subject of all living people. it is confusion.. but thank you for giving me a rock to leap from , and a hand on the other side holding a bungy cord.

  2. My demons are displayed for most (not all) to see, AND they live in shadows for those who are willing to take a look. I’ve looked, I’ve seen, I’ve survived. And, they haunt me, those demons lurking behind the shadows of my shadows. BOO. Gotcha. Booga booga. I love the painting. I am the painting. Thank you for my portrait. L.

  3. I don’t know which was more compelling, Lea’s post or Linda’s response. Thanks for both.

Leave a Reply

 
