Thank you for the mothers of husbands and boyfriends

 

Thank you Shirley for being a delicate but strong representative of the true power of feminine. Thank you for teaching me to sew and can tomatoes and listen for the lid to pop. Thank you for looking at me with those lovely blue eyes in a way that let me know you understood I was just young, not stupid. Thank you for giving birth to the Taurus from the Taurus. Thank you for telling me about Findhorn and all those things that inspired me to explore my own spirituality for the last 30 years.

Thank you Julie for calling me your “Little Annie Hall” and never abandoning me. Thank you for remembering my birthday for the last twenty five years. Thank you for teaching me about family with that Capricorn wisdom which travels through phone wires into my heart.

Thank you Mama Kess for making me feel so special and cherished. Thank you for recognizing me even though I was not the one your son thought he loved.

 

Thank you to all the mothers of sons who offer family to young women when their own mothers cannot.

You are the women that give birth to sons and adopt the daughters who love them.

I am thankful for the women who have come into my life by way of relationships with their sons. I am thankful for their acceptance and the many things they taught me.

I have a friend who does this also. I hope she knows that when those young girls grow old, they will remember.

~ by leakelley on August 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
