Thank You for Affectionate Names

 

Angel

Babe

Bear

Bella

Boo

Cheri

Cupcake

Cutiepie

Darling

Dear

Dumplin’

Girly

Honey

Hottie

Kitten

Kid

Lovey 

Lamb Chop (or “Lambert” as my friend Linda calls loved ones)

Muffin

Munchkin

Pookie

Puddin’

Pumpkin

Princess

Snookums

Snuggle Bunny

Sugar

Sunshine

Sweet Cheeks

Sweet Pea

Sweetie pie

Toots

Wookie

Wifey

So with all these options (and others) why are names like “whore” and “bitch” and … (anything mean) being touted as bonding material for BFFs (best friends forever)? Did I miss the Educational Video on the language of love? Am I so out of touch with social evolution that these words still offend me? Am I clueless or am I just…

Groovy?

~ by leakelley on August 8, 2008.

3 Responses to “Thank You for Affectionate Names”

  1. Seems like you got it covered

  2. I wonder if Irvingette would be a good name for a girl 🙂

    I jest, of course LOL 😀

    Seriously, though, I think some people who are friends call eachother “bxtch” and “whxre” with a kind of subtle irony, although it’s not really my cup of tea either 🙂 For example: I prefer to call my spouse “Snugglicious” “Cuddlicious” et cetera 🙂

  3. You’re certainly groovy, LJK, and you didn’t miss an educational video on the language of love. You simply listened and watched, and what you saw was that people respond to kindness the way you want/need them to. I’d rather have my friends call me cute things than mean, nasty things as a way to cover up for their inability to feel comfortable being sweet. Thank goodness for our goofy terms of endearment, Lambert. L.

Leave a Reply

 
