Thank you for The Biological “Clock”


Okaaay!

It’s between 4 am and O’ dark thirty. I am wide awake.

I don’t want to be wide awake.

 

I attribute this conundrum to my biological clock being set forward to mid-life while I was sleeping and dreaming that I was only in my thirties.

My sweet thirties, where my biological clock ticked softly to the anticipatory whisper of a receptive birth canal awaiting seedlings of my progeny.

Well…that was just a dream.

 

My biological clock has recently been switched from an innocuous little “I-better-have-a-baby-quick” alarm clock to the loaded detonator of time bombs, mind bombs, and apocalyptic hot flashes with nocturnal weather changes that dispense hot August nights in the middle of December—even with the window wide open. 

Yep, 4 am. The detonator went off.

 

Did I mention the part about the hot August nights in December?

Forgive me if I am repeating myself. You see, part of the  time bomb is the “mind” bomb which includes forgetting what I said three minutes ago. It also includes forgetting people’s names in the middle of a conversation with them, forgetting the word that describes the color orange, forgetting how to spell mayonaise, and forgetting what I walked down the hall to get last week. I am standing in the hall as I write this.

 

The biological clock, what an amazing invention.

You can bet it was invented by some little Swiss guy with a silver mustache, a tendency toward misogyny, and a bad sense of humor.

 

Now… what was that guys name again?

 

 

 

~ by leakelley on December 17, 2007.

One Response to “Thank you for The Biological “Clock””

  1. So, I guess Sweet Dreams would not be a great comment here, eh?

Leave a Reply

 
