Thank you for Mercy

I woke up trying to remember the name of a movie I watched about the Russian invasion of Afghanistan where a captured Russian soldier asked for mercy by invoking “Nannatai”. I’m not certain of the spelling.
Though I clearly don’t have the facts about me this morning, I cannot forget the powerful impact made by the concept. It is a code wherein an Afghani captures an enemy, and this mercy is requested by the enemy, the Afghani is obliged to feed, clothe, and care for the enemy as a part of the family or clan. This seems like the ancient roots of the Geneva Convention, eh?
The Geneva Convention… “Russian” invasion of Afghanistan…. history, eh?

Mercy is one of those acts performed by mammals with empathy and compassion. It is a profound facet of evolution.
When we can stop the momentum of rage, fear, or revenge in it’s tracks and actually commit an act of mercy or forgiveness, we are at our highest as humans.

My little brothers and I used to play a tickle game, where two siblings would tickle another until they said the “code word” which was different every time we played. What made the game hysterical is that no one could utter the code word while they were laughing so hard from being tickled. Eventually, the ticklers would have mercy on the ticklee and we would move on before anybody wet their pants.

I used to be in a band called Mercy when I lived in San Francisco.
This was us mercy.jpgand people showed us a lot of mercy.

I am thankful that we have the capacity for mercy.

Mercy – One Republic (MGSHALO)

~ by leakelley on October 10, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
