Thank You for Getting Dirty for a Heart of Gold

You can’t find gold if you ain’t willing to get dirty. -The Claim Owner

I went panning for gold once, up on Nine Mile Road outside Ashland, Oregon. I went with a couple fellows, one of which made a claim there.

We camped out for a week and worked the river bed while exploring quartz veins that lead to the potential “Mother Lode” which we never found.

It was an amazing adventure wherein I learned; how to extract a tick from my own leg without leaving it’s head in my person, that Big Foot was actually a tall bearded dude who never took a shower and lived permanently on a claim two miles from ours (you could tell he was coming to visit by the oncoming smell), and that there’s a lot of dirt disturbing to find one tiny piece of gold.

Sometimes I think people are like mining claims.

You have to trek into their territory and be willing to explore and move a lot of dirt out of the way to find their true gold.

Sometimes you only get iron pyrite (fool’s gold) and you go back down the mountain a little disheartened with a tick in your leg.

Sometimes you find just enough gold to keep you searching for more and develop authentic friendship.

Then there are the folks who are embedded in the quartz veins who keep promising the mother lode by encouraging you to follow them.

I continually seek the mother lode in folks because I believe we all have it in us.

Even though I will not follow a quartz vein into oblivion, I am willing to get a little bit dirty in the process of seeking Truth and Love.

And I am thankful for the miners of my own territory who gently stir the silt away to find my heart—even if it seems to disturb me at first.

~ by leakelley on June 11, 2013.

3 Responses to “Thank You for Getting Dirty for a Heart of Gold”

  1. Imagine the writer is Aesop, telling only the stories he made of his own experience. They, too, would be fables (memory is a great, delightful magician), & each tale, too, would say, “This is what I learned, & it is my gift to you, dear reader.” And a layer deeper, in a darkness where one must look in a most concentrated way to sense anything that is orderly, were we to try, Aesop might repeatedly be seen down his life’s years experiencing circumstances almost identical to those in which he says the lesson was first learned, thus adding carved stones one upon another to the walls of the fortress that is himself, that each of us is made of, inside which everyman has a private room that contains what is suitable for his tale.

  2. fables are wisdom. which are meant like all writing, to convey the personal wisdom we all need in order to advance, the writer makes this personal experience a public one, and teaches with that. thanks for the post lea. more for the step that keeps reaching out. Most like to keep themselves inside and hidden. and the dirty becomes only ground they have to dig themselves out of.

  3. Bookmarked your blog because I like your art. Don’t even remember now how I came across it (I might even have met you, on one of my trips west), just that I like it. A lot. Today I am blog cruising for inspiration. Stopped with yours, because I got caught up in reading your beautiful posts. Making me think and ponder. Thanks. Next time I’m on the west coast, I’m going to try to look you up.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

